A PERFECT LOCATION

The birds found here are entirely wild and behave in exactly the same way that they would outside of the reserve’s boundaries. They are not given additional food or kept in a semi-captive state.

Some of them, used to the discreet presence of members of the public, allow humans to come much closer than would be the case outside the reserve.

The reserve is internationally renowned in the field of nature photography. In the space of a few years, it has become a Mecca for many photographers, both professional and amateur, novices and experts, all of whom find plenty of material here from which to fashionoriginal or striking images, and above all, to enjoy themselves!

The main advantages of the site are: the wide variety of habitats and species, the fact there is always a good chance of seeing interesting wildlife events or behaviour at any given time of the year, the almost disconcerting proximity of the birds, their growing familiarity with human beings, the design and siting of the viewing points, not to mention the near constant presence of photographers who know the reserve well and who can therefore supply newcomers with practical information and technical tips.

Share your best images from our photo site “Teich Bird Reserve seen by visitors” : Photo site

 
affut-6

Hides

The viewing points, are tailored to photographers’ needs (with viewing slits that are at least 21 cm wide, which is the diameter of a 400mm f/2.8 lens, arm rests, fixed benches or moveable stools, viewing slits at different heights…). They are designed to be comfortable, in case you find yourself in for a long wait…

Some of these hides are equipped with low-level slits, specially designed for photography, enabling you to avoid having to take high-angle shots when the birds are within close range.

You don’t need massive telephoto lenses for close-ups, a 300mm lens with a small sensor produces excellent results, and amazing shots can sometimes be taken with simple point-and-shoot cameras !

To make the most of the lovely morning and evening light, we would advise photographers to buy a pass, which would allow them to benefit from extended opening hours on a regular basis (see the timetable of special opening hours for holders of passes).

 
photographe

PHOTOGRAPHERS’ CODE OF CONDUCT

Like all other visitors, photographers must respect the reserve by-laws and regulations. In particular, they should remain on the paths at all times and must refrain from using audio equipment/recordings to attract birds.

They are also requested to ensure that their camera lenses do not project through the viewing slits in the viewing stations. This could disturb the birds and cause their abrupt departure from the vicinity of the hide.

Failure to respect these regulations may lead to the immediate expulsion of the offending parties by the reserve staff.

Lastly, it should never be forgotten that the reserve is open to everyone. The viewing stations are therefore not to be seen as being the ‘preserve of’ or reserved for the exclusive use of wildlife photographers. Making space and time for others so as to share something of your hobby is an educational activity in itself…

 

TRAINING COURSES

We do not run training courses in wildlife photography for individual members of the public as many professional photographers and businesses already offer this kind of service. Some even use the reserve as the location for their courses…

However, we do run courses on request for groups of 8 to 15 people. These groups are supervised by a well-known photographer who is very familiar with the reserve and in whom we have complete confidence – up to the point of leaving them the ‘keys’ to the reserve.

Seek information and know the prices

 
 

110 hectares
natural space

323 species
observed

April 1972
ouverture au public

3000 hours
open/year

Un site merveilleusement adapté

Les oiseaux sont ici strictement sauvages, et adoptent des comportements identiques à ceux qu’ils ont en dehors de la réserve. Ils ne sont ni nourris artificiellement ni maintenus en semi captivité.

Pour nombre d’entre eux qui ont pris l’habitude de voir passer un public paisible, ils se laissent ici approcher beaucoup plus près qu’à l’extérieur de la réserve.

La réputation de la réserve en matière de photographie animalière dépasse de beaucoup les frontières du pays. Elle est devenue depuis quelques années, une destination privilégiée pour nombre de photographes professionnels ou amateurs, débutants ou confirmés, qui tous trouvent là matière à récolter des images originales ou inédites, et surtout à se faire plaisir !

Les atouts principaux du site sont : la diversité des paysages et des espèces, la régularité d’un spectacle potentiel tout au long de l’année, la proximité parfois déconcertante des oiseaux, leur croissante habitude du public, la conception des observatoires et… la présence quasi permanente de photographes habitués des lieux, qui favorisent les échanges d’informations et de compétences.

Partagez vos plus belles images sur notre site photo « la Réserve Ornithologique du Teich vue par ses visiteurs » : Site photo

 
affut-6

Les affûts

Les cabanes d’observation (accessibles à tous les visiteurs), sont adaptées aux besoins des photographes (ouverture minimale de 21 cm = diamètre d’un 2,8 de 400mm, tablette d’appui pour les coudes, bancs fixes ou tabourets mobiles, ouvertures de hauteurs différentes…), et sont d’un confort agréable pour de longues heures d’attente.

Dans certains de ces affûts, des ouvertures très basses spécialement destinées aux photographes (« lens box »), permettent d’éviter les cadrages trop plongeants lorsque les oiseaux sont près.

Nul besoin d’un matériel hypertrophié pour cadrer serré, un 300 mm sur un petit capteur donne déjà d’excellents résultats, et d’étonnantes images sont parfois réalisées avec des simples compacts !

Pour profiter des belles lumières du matin et de la fin de journée, nous conseillons aux photographes de prendre un abonnement qui leur permet de régulièrement bénéficier d’horaires très favorables (voir calendrier des horaires privilégiés pour les abonnés).

 
photographe

Code de conduite des photographes

Comme les autres visiteurs, les photographes se doivent de respecter le règlement intérieur, en particulier en ne sortant jamais des chemins et en s’interdisant l’utilisation de systèmes sonores attirant les oiseaux.

Par ailleurs, nous leur demandons de ne pas laisser dépasser leurs objectifs des fenêtres d’observation, les perturbations créées par les mouvements de ces derniers peuvent conduire certains oiseaux non ciblés à déserter les lieux rapidement.

Tout manquement à ces règles élémentaires pourra entraîner l’exclusion immédiate des contrevenants par les permanents de la réserve.

Enfin, ne jamais oublier que la réserve est ouverte à tous les publics, et que les observatoires ne sauraient être la « propriété privée » des seuls photographes. Partager un peu de son espace et de sa passion, c’est aussi faire une œuvre éducative

 

Stages et séjours photo

Nous n’organisons pas de stages ou séjours de photographie animalière pour les individuels, nombre de photographes professionnels ou de structures privées assurant déjà ce service, et ce jusque dans nos murs…

Par contre, nous proposons des stages à la demande pour des groupes constitués de 8 à 15 personnes. Ils sont encadrés par un photographe réputé connaissant bien le site, et en qui nous avons confiance au point de lui laisser « les clés » de la réserve.

Demander des renseignements et connaitre les tarifs

 
 

110 hectares
d'espace naturel

323 espèces
observées

Avril 1972
ouverture au public

3000 heures
d'ouverture/an