hirondelles

SEASON BY SEASON

Birds in the reserve don’t spend all their time waiting for members of the public to come along and watch them…they go about their daily business at their own pace – which may change according to the seasons and even the time of day When weather conditions become more extreme (temperatures above 28 to 30°C or below -5°C), the birds will change their daily routine in order to cope. During very hot weather, they will skulk in the shade or seek out currents of air which will help them cool down. When the weather is cold, they abandon the ponds and other bodies of water, now frozen over… In order to get the best possible views, the visitor has to adapt to the birds’ patterns of behaviour and daily routines…

Some birds are resident, others are wintering species, migrants orpartial migrants – there’s something for everyone in the world of nature… A species like the Grey Heron, for example, may be considered to be a ‘resident’ species, because it can be found all year round on the reserve and breeds there too. If we look more closely, however, we will see that there are also individuals from Scandinavia, who stop off here before continuing to Africa, as well as those who arrive from northern Europe to spend the entire winter in the Arcachon Basin area. Thus the Grey Heron is simultaneously a resident, a migratory and a wintering species… As a result, the composition of the reserve’s bird population changes almost every day, especially during migration, so the list of birds present on the reserve changes with it. All seasons have something of interest for the visitor, because every season has its own special sights which are specific to that particular time of year and no other.

 
gravelot

THE RHYTHM OF THE TIDES

The reserve borders the Arcachon Basin, notably the part of the Basin which is covered by a huge expanse of mudflats that are exposed at low tide. This geographical location is ideal as it enables thousands of birds to take shelter in the reserve when the tide is high, before setting off for the mudflats as soon as the tide retreats. This regular mass movement of birds takes place by day and by night, as a full tidal cycle lasts for around twelve hours and occurs about an hour later with every 24 hour period that passes… From August to May the visitor must pay particular attention to the tide cycles in order to make the most of their visit. A highly-detailed tide table for the current year is available in the ‘Visiting the reserve’ section.

 
spatules_bois

BY DAY OR BY NIGHT

The alternation of night and day is a phenomenon which influences the behaviour of the vast majority of bird species. Most birds are active during the day and sleep during the night-time. However, other species are not dictated to by the time of day, but by the ebb and flow of the tides. A small number of species are mostly nocturnal (Night Heron). The fall of night brings changes to bird behaviour – frequently they will group together in ‘dormitories’ or communal roosts until the morning. There are some remarkable sights that can only be seen in the reserveat morning or evening twilight, such as gatherings of Spoonbills, Cormorants and Great Egrets. Holders of passes can access the reserve outside of normal opening hours on a few days of each year, enabling them to share in these special moments.

 
 

110 hectares
natural space

323 species
observed

April 1972
ouverture au public

3000 hours
open/year

hirondelles

Au fil des saisons

Dans la réserve, les oiseaux ne passent pas leur vie à attendre que le public vienne les observer… Ils vaquent à leurs occupations vitales suivant des fréquences qui leur sont propres et qui peuvent varier tant au fil des saisons que de la journée. Lorsque les conditions climatiques s’orientent vers les extrêmes (température dépassant les 28 à 30°C ou inférieures à -5°C), les oiseaux modifient encore leur quotidien pour résister à ces phénomènes. Par forte chaleur ils se tapissent à l’ombre ou dans les coulées d’air qui les rafraîchissent, par temps froid ils désertent les plans d’eau gelés… Pour espérer les observer dans les meilleures conditions, il faudra donc au visiteur s’adapter lui-même aux rythmes des oiseaux…

Sédentaires, hivernants, migrateurs partiels ou complets, il y en a pour tous les goûts dans la nature… Une même espèce, comme le Héron cendré par exemple, peut se voir considérer comme « sédentaire » car présent toute l’année et nichant sur place. Mais dans le détail il faudra aussi en distinguer les individus nordiques qui passent ici et poursuivent leur chemin vers l’Afrique, et encore ceux arrivant du nord de l’Europe pour passer tout l’hiver sur le bassin d’Arcachon. Le Héron cendré en tant qu’espèce, est tout à la fois sédentaire, migrateur et hivernant… Donc dans la réserve, tous les jours ou presque, et particulièrement en période de migration, le peuplement des oiseaux se modifie, et la « liste des oiseaux présents » fait de même… Pour le visiteur, toutes les saisons sont intéressantes, car toutes délivrent des spectacles qui ne se retrouveront pas dans les semaines ou les mois qui suivent.

 
gravelot

D’une marée à l’autre

La réserve borde le bassin d’Arcachon, et en particulier le secteur de cette lagune occupé par d’immenses vasières qui découvrent à marée basse. Cette situation privilégiée permet à des milliers d’oiseaux de se réfugier à marée haute sur les reposoirs de la Réserve, pour en repartir vers les vasières dès que la marée redescend. Ce mouvement pendulaire interviendra de jour comme de nuit, car un cycle complet de marée dure environ douze heures, et se décale d’une heure tous les jours… D’août à mai en particulier, le visiteur devra donc tenir compte du rythme des marées pour optimiser sa venue. Un calendrier très précis est proposé pour l’année en cours dans la rubrique « Ma visite ».

 
spatules_bois

De jour comme de nuit

L’alternance du jour et de la nuit (ou cycle nycthéméral) est un phénomène qui influence les comportements de la grande majorité des espèces d’oiseaux. Ces derniers sont majoritairement diurnes, et donc se posent pour dormir la nuit. Cependant d’autres s’affranchissent de cette contrainte, en vivant par exemple au rythme des marées, et d’autres encore, mais plus rares sont surtout nocturnes (Bihoreau gris). L’arrivée de la nuit modifie ainsi les attitudes des oiseaux qui vont bien souvent se regrouper en « dortoirs » jusqu’au lendemain. Les heures « entre chien et loup », le matin comme le soir, sont l’occasion d’observer des spectacles uniques sur la Réserve, comme les regroupements de la Spatule blanche, du Grand Cormoran ou de la Grande Aigrette. Pour les abonnés, un « calendrier des heures d’ouvertures privilégiées » permet de savourer ces instants quelques jours dans l’année.

 
 

110 hectares
d'espace naturel

323 espèces
observées

Avril 1972
ouverture au public

3000 heures
d'ouverture/an